Simple Modern Sewing for Spring Top #1

by lowbeamstudios

Simple Modern Sewing is full of basic patterns for sewing an easy-wearing wardrobe.  It is a recent translation of a 2008 Japanese book and reflects the overall simplicity of their fashion designs.  The book contains eight patterns, each with variations to comprise of 25 different garments.  Although I would love to dig in and sew one of each up, I had to start with just one.  The Raglan Sleeve Top (Pattern 2b) called to me the loudest.

I had yardage in Anna Maria Horner’s Pastry Line Dobby Dot in Water waiting to be a long sleeve blouse.  All the patterns in Simple Modern Sewing include the with-ease measurements so you know how the garment will fit your particular curves.  I love loose, flowing tops, but look better in a slightly trimmer fit.  I realized I would be cutting a few inches out of the pattern in both the sleeves and body.  The pattern sewed up quickly but halfway through I wasn’t happy.  The slit looked messy when finished and wasn’t necessary because the head opening is plenty ample.  I covered the slit with a faux placket and added four mother of pearl buttons from my grandmother’s stash.  They are lovely with a very matt finish perfect for this top.  I also chose not to gather the sleeves and instead cut a few inches off and finished with a turned hem.  This is my first top this spring (Oh, the plans I have!) and was entered in Made-by-Rae’s Spring Top Sewalong.

