Number 9: Easy Breezy Summer Dress

by lowbeamstudios

I am a jeans and t-shirt kind of gal.  I wear mostly tops and skirts/shorts (jean cut-offs to be precise) all summer.  I am hoping to add the ease of a few new dresses to my wardrobe.  My ideal dress requires no thought:  slip it on and you are ready to walk out the door.

Well, just maybe a Grandpa sweater and scarf for those breezy spring days.

           

I wanted to sew up a simple dress that screamed summer.  The library had I Am Cute Dresses waiting to inspire me.  This book is great for inspiration, but it is not for beginners.  It has drawings and basic instructions but is lacking full-size patterns and thorough instructions that would ease a beginner in.  If you have sewn a few garments and have a little know-how on finishing you will get along just fine with the limited directions.

The dress above is #9 (all the dresses are numbered versus titled).  The pattern from the book has an asymmetrical hem.  I like clean cut so I changed that up a bit.  I chose a half circle skirt to attach to the body from the pattern.  Being an easy summer dress, I wanted to wear it without a bra and thus lined the body with a coordinating light blue voile.  This also allowed me make an internal casing for elastic versus the drawstring and external casing from the pattern.  Voile is so perfect for summer garments and this one is no exception:  AMH voile Baby Bouquet Dusk from the Little Folks Collection.

Our weather has turned chilly again so I am sad to say this might stay in the closet for a week or two before I wear it out.

