Who Sells Seashells*

by lowbeamstudios

My Aunt deserves a big thank for this lovely yarn;  A continuous 524 yards of hand-dyed, hand-spun wool gifted to me last summer.  After finishing up a few other knit projects, I dove into this yarn at the beginning of the new year.  The amount of yarn (not quite enough for a full sweater, but way too much for a hat) made me decide on a sleeveless cardigan: the Abalone.  It should have been a quicker knit, but the yarn pooled funny when knit with a single strand.  To make a better finished garment, I made the knitting more work for myself.  I divvied the skein into three balls and traded balls every row which resulted in a nicely variegated fabric.  All the details can be found here.

***Growing up, I called my Aunt Sue “Aunt Whooey”.  I thought up this post title and couldn’t call it anything else.  Sorry for ridiculous play on words!  😉

