KCWC 2012: the boy

by lowbeamstudios

Last fall I made Cy a pair of truck pants that he loves.  They are his race car pants and must be worn with his Cars (the movie) shirt and even his generic car undies.  He provides a small amount of fuss if everything is not clean when he wants to wear them.  With summer approaching I just had to sew up shorts in the same fabric.  That must have been the reason I bought two yards of the fabric last year, right?

the pattern:  The shorts are AMH’s Quick Change Trousers from Handmade Beginnings.  Size 18 – 2T is still fitting Cy great at almost three years old.

the fabric:  The car side is “Truck Stop” by Alexander Henry coordinating with Joel Dewberry’s Acorn Chain in Timber from his Modern Meadow line.  The out of this world side is an alien print purchased about six years ago from JoAnn’s coordinating with my own patchwork from the scraps bin.

the sewing:  The pants have come together great every time I have used the pattern.  I have used it to make two pairs of pants for Cy, one for a brand new California cousin, and now as shorts.  To sew shorts I just trimmed some inches off the pattern.   On the two most recent pairs, I have reinforced all seams.  I started doing this after re-sewing the crotch seams in both the first pairs.  I finished these shorts up on Thursday after picking up the necessary elastic.

the pattern:  The shirt is the Raw-Edged Raglan from Sewing for Boys.

the fabric:  thrifted t’s.  I bought a rainbow of them the last 50% off day for another project and was glad I had so many colors to choose from.

the sewing:  This shirt is my first venture into knits.  I may be hooked.  It came together so fast and easy.  I am not sure I like the raw edge and might sew it reversed next time.  I also appliquéd a star to add a little detail.  The boy could not wait for me to finish the star Sunday morning so he could wear it “now”.  The seam down the back is due to a shortage of fabric.  I quite like it though.

