A Plain Dress

by lowbeamstudios

the pattern:  Simplicity 2245 – Lisette Portfolio Dress, option A’s length and B’s sleeves

the fabric:  denim chambray (maybe Robert Kaufman)

the sewing:  Pockets!  I was so excited when I discovered this pattern.  The brilliant pocket design is so much more fun than the in-seam pockets I have tried in the past.  You may notice a wee bit of white at the top of the pockets.  I lined them with a great floral print that peeks out when my hands are in the pockets.  The dress came together without too much confusion.  Liesl Gibson (of Oliver & S, author of Little Things to Sew) knows how to write clear, concise patterns.  She provides well-written directions and easy to follow illustrations.  She even includes little tips that are helpful not only in her patterns, but in following most any pattern.  I changed the finishing of the neckband and the bottom hem.  Instead of stitching in the ditch, I chose to hand sew the interior yoke piece.  I am coming around to hand-sewing when it means a nicer finished product.  The hem would have been too short for my liking if I had turned and topstitched so I finished it with bias trim.

the garment:  It is a little plain.  I wear quite a bit of color and enjoy great patterns.  When I finished sewing and put the dress on, I was disappointed.  The pattern is fantastic and it fit great, but there was no pizazz.  I have not come up with a remedy for that problem.  I considered a little embroidery as topstitching around my seams, but not quite sure.  In the winter, some great tights and a turtleneck will really make the denim blue pop.  For now, I will probably just pair the dress with a great scarf and give myself some time to pin down what I feel is missing.

*Our camera is a goner.  I am now using a borrowed point and shoot and an iPhone.  Neither are what my old camera was, but they’ll both have to do for now.  I am still trying to get used to them.  On the upside, expect some Hipstamatic prints coming your way.

