Skirt Week

by lowbeamstudios

 
The ladies over at Crafterhours are hosting Skirt Week again.  With so many projects waiting in line next to my sewing machine, I knew I wasn't going to make an unplanned new skirt in the next few weeks.  But then I noticed that any skirt sewn between July 1, 2011 and the final submission date of June 8, 2012 is fair game.  That makes it a little easier, doesn't it?  I have probably sewn a few in the last year, but the most recent popped into mind.  In March I finished up a great skirt for a job interview.  I didn't get the job, but I do have a great skirt to show for it.
the pattern:  Anna Maria Horner’s Flirting the Issue Skirt
the fabric:  Liberty of London’s Memories of Rain and a copper voile
the sewing:  This is the second time I have made a skirt from this pattern.  The first skirt is so full I feel it’s too fancy for everyday wear.  I knew when cutting this one that I didn’t want nearly as much fabric.  Also, I only had a half yard of the Liberty fabric so I had to mess around with designs trying to figure out how to highlight the Liberty print while still making an appropriately fitting skirt. My solution was the copper bands of fabric.  There is no hem at the bottom, just a fold to the other side.  When sewing the skirt I left the copper much longer than the Liberty print and then folded it up into the Liberty and stitched a line around.  To make that stitching fit in and to mimic the ruching at the waist,  I stitched a few lines of copper thread around the bottom portion of the skirt.  Bonus:  This skirt is really two in one.  It reverses to solid copper.

Planning a new skirt?  Hop on over to Crafterhours to see some great tutorials this week and next.
crafterhours
