Linen Crops – Take Two

by lowbeamstudios

cropped linen pants

the pattern:  Simple Modern Sewing’s 4b Elastic Waist Crops (modified) – take two

the fabric:  Robert Kaufman’s Essex in Taupe – 55% linen, 45% cotton

the sewing:  The only difference from the last pair is the width of the leg.  The pattern is written with a different width for the pants and the crops.  The crops have two inches extra width in each leg.  This added a little extra bulk in the waist/hips.  I cut these with the pant width to alleviate adding bulk where I don’t need it.

As the summer heat rolls in this week, I am thankful for a comparable alternative to skirts for the days I am biking around.  These pants are comfortable and cool while providing less fussy coverage than pedaling in a skirt.  I need all the help I can get in this department.  Just ask the kind woman who approached me at the farmer’s market to tell me that not only had I just picked up my son, but also, the entire front half of my skirt.  Yep, that was me showing all my parts to the patrons and vendors while shopping for my vegetables.

