Remember When: An A to Z Quilt

by lowbeamstudios

……a.k.a. as the unofficial first quilt.

I finished the A to Z quilt yesterday.  I then sat in front of the washing machine watching my very first finished quilt tumble and tumble, so excited to have a finished product washed and dried to crinkly perfection.  I can officially call myself a quilter.

This baby quilt measures 36″ square.  It is my own design.  The quilt front is comprised of an almost complete charm pack of the Summersville line of fabric (quartered before piecing) and a yard of the Alphabetty print from the same line dyed by me.  The binding is an additional half yard of the black and white brushstrokes print.

The backing fabric is Ikea yardage I picked up at the Quilt Shop Hop awhile back.  The hand-drawn nature of both fabrics worked well together.  I love the blobby monster in the top right corner.

I recieved a few odd glances from passer-bys as I pinned my quilt to a building and proceeded to photograph it.  The best ones were from my “assistant” in his snazzy new red shoes.

