Halloween 2008: Tinkerbell

by lowbeamstudios

**This post is part of a 4 day series highlighting hand-made costumes from past Halloweens.  I hope to provide inspiration and ideas in your costume crafting endeavors.  The photos are family snapshots, but still accurately convey the costumes.  In most cases, I will provide some direction on the crafting process.

2008 was our first year trick-or-treating.  I can’t recall why Tinkerbell was chosen, but I do remember I had fun making her first costume.

the shoes:  Mira had been a flower girl earlier in the year.  She had leftover ballet slippers that still fit.  I used green acrylic paint, giant white pompoms, and a glue gun to transform them into a fairies.

the skirt:  Layer upon layer of tulle.  Although I just winged it, a very similar pattern can now be found in Liesl Gibson’s Little Things to Sew.  The bottom of the skirt was cut in a ragged zig zag.

the shirt:  The shirt is comprised of a sheer glittery layer and a dark green back.  I created my own pattern by modifying a simple shirt.  I left the front as is, but created a deep V in the back that tied for closure at the small of her back.

the wings:  They were purchased at a local shop.

