Halloween 2009: The Pink Poodle

by lowbeamstudios

**This post is part of a 4 day series highlighting hand-made costumes from past Halloweens.  I hope to provide inspiration and ideas in your costume crafting endeavors.  The photos are family snapshots, but still accurately convey the costumes.  In most cases, I will provide some direction on the crafting process.

She wanted to be a dog:  I had this floppy-eared scraggly brown dog with a spot over one eye in mind.  She burst my bubble when she announced it had to be a pink dog.  Soon after, the pink poodle was born.

Her wardrobe was full of pink by her choice so I picked a few basics in the same palette and bought bunches of fleece to match.

the hat:  The hat was made in a similar fashion to these (which reminds me I wanted to make a few of these for soon to arrive babies).  I sewed strips of fleece and scraps of yarn onto an ear shape and sewed the ears on.  I added a little bow at the top of each ear.

the poodle pompoms:  Think “giant scrunchie”.  The ankle and wrist cuffs were exactly that.  I made large elasticized bands that were covered in the little fleece strips again.

the collar:  The collar is a strip of leather with pom pom ribbon sewn on.  The closure is a snap.

the tail:  The tail is an elongated cone shape with a fleece scrap pompom at the tip.  I used yarn to tie it around her belly.  HERE is a simple tutorial on making your own pom poms.

the Doggie Bag:  I couldn’t resist stamping “Doggie Treats” on a plain brown bag.

