Johnny’mores!!!

by lowbeamstudios

It all started a few years back with a trip to the apple orchard and plans for a bonfire later that evening.

A few miles from my parents is a little apple orchard that makes the best cake donuts* (see below) around.  Other donuts don’t compare, so I choose to eat donuts only once a year during our October trip to visit my family.  I usually eat one plain at the orchard and another one or two as the now famous Johnny’mores.

On the drive from the orchard to my parents’ we talked of our plans for the night:

“I am so excited for the bonfire.”

“Mom do you have the stuff for s’mores?”

“I have marshmallows, but I don’t think I have graham crackers.”

“Let’s use donuts!”

“We just picked all those apples.  Let’s add a slice.  Yum!”

“I only have dark chocolate.”

“That will be good.”

“Can we add caramel too?”

And the Johnny’more was born.  My dad (John) named it and it isn’t truly fall until I have enjoyed at least one around a bonfire on my parents’ property.

It is easiest to assemble a platter with all the goodies ready to go before you head out to you own bonfire.

To make your own Johnny’more:

  1. Procure an awesome cake donut.  Slice in half.
  2. Warm caramel sauce in a bowl.  Add a spoon for drizzling onto your donut.
  3. Core and peel apples.  Slice into rounds that look like donuts.
  4. Add enough marshmallows and dark chocolate to your tray.
  5. Out at the fire assemble your Johnny’more open face with caramel and an apple slice on one half and a square or two of chocolate on the other.
  6. Roast your marshmallow to preference and place on chocolate half of donut.
  7. Squish/sandwich all the ingredients and enjoy the best version of a s’more ever!

cake donut

***from Wikipedia:  Doughnuts can be made from a yeast-based dough for raised doughnuts or a special type of cake batter. Yeast-raised doughnuts contain about 25% oil by weight, whereas cake doughnuts’ oil content is around 20%, but they have extra fat included in the batter before frying. Cake doughnuts are fried for about 90 seconds at approximately 190 °C to 198 °C, turning once. Yeast-raised doughnuts absorb more oil because they take longer to fry, about 150 seconds, at 182 °C to 190 °C. Cake doughnuts typically weigh between 24 g and 28 g, whereas yeast-raised doughnuts average 38 g and are generally larger when finished.

