Zebras for Baby

by lowbeamstudios

I was sewing the tag on an hour before the baby shower, but I did manage to finish this quilt for my new niece or nephew due in just one short month.  I pulled over on the drive to the shower to snap a few photos.

Echino Decoro in Natural made the perfect whole cloth quilt.  The bold graphic print was screaming to be made into a baby quilt.  The colors and patterns also make it look as though more thought and energy went into designing this quilt than actually happened.  The lack of time I put into planning was later consumed by many hours of hand quilting.

I divided each block of color/pattern with machine stitching in a off-white thread and hand quilted vertical stripes in a sea foam pearl cotton from AMH’s boxed set in the Reflecting Pool color way.  The quilt is backed with a royal blue and white polka dot flannel.  For binding, I used a Kona cotton (azure, maybe?) that matched the thread perfectly.  I love the way the turquoise color pops against all the black and white.

