My New Wool Coat

by lowbeamstudios

The second piece of outerwear for Fall/Winter 2012 is complete…  And I love it!

Wool Coat Collar Down

I used the same “basic jacket” pattern from the Built by Wendy:  Coats and Jackets book.  I went up a size from the last one to add some ease for all my winter layers worn underneath.  Like the first I lengthened the sleeves and cut the body length.  This time I also quilted the lining, added in-seam pockets, and made up (ahem, self-drafted) a collar inspired by THIS one.

Wool Coat Collar Up

The body of the coat was done for a full week before I could muster the courage/energy to self-draft a collar based on one internet image.  I knew it was exactly what I wanted but didn’t know if I could get it right.  After procrastinating in hopes the perfect collar would drop from the sky, I managed to make one exactly how I wanted it.

Wool Coat Up Collar Detail

The outer of the coat is made from a wide 2 meters of wool brought back with my very generous Mother-in-Law purchased during her trip to Scotland in October.  The buttons were purchased at a local yarn shop.  I had been leaning towards copper, but when the silver squares were put on the wool, I had found a match.  And I couldn’t pass up that little pig:  He hides away in the collar until I need a little extra warmth.

Wool Coat plus Lining

I found the perfect excuse to purchase the Ladder Dots print from Denyse Schmidt’s Chicopee line I had been lusting over.  The print matches the raspberry stripes from the wool and is the perfect pop of color I like hiding away in my hand-made garments.  After attaching the wool facing to the cotton, I quilted the entire lining (still in five pieces) for extra warmth.  The sweater I am wearing is second-hand and I had thought it would line the pockets, but it fit perfect so I have a new cashmere sweater and instead lined the pockets with more Ladder Dots.

A few detail shots:

Wool Coat Front Button Detail

Wool Coat Back Collar Detail

With my new coat complete, I am now in a mad dash to finish all my gift sewing before the holidays are here and gone.   My list to make is not very long but I do see a few late night in my near future.

