The Best of 2012

by lowbeamstudios

DSCF5570

I started blogging.  My first post in March for Rae’s Spring Top Sewalong is still one of my most frequented posts.  I finished three tops and even made it to the Top of the Tops Week 4.  I am already planning for this year’s spring tops.  Are you?

DSCF5632

I sewed a dress that is all ME and it became the most worn garment in my closet all summer long.

Cy's Shirt in Action

I made friends with knit fabric.  After a few shirts I even felt comfortable with it.  The kids and I all had new shirts sewn this year.  There will definitely be more knitwear in 2013.

cropped linen pants

I modified a pants pattern for two pairs of great fitting lazy-day capris.

Small Water Bottle Sleeves

I wrote my first tutorial.  And my second.

Dandelion Quilt (full with help)

I quilted.  I finished 5 quilts before the end of the new year.  The one above is my favorite.  (The newest two were Christmas gifts and will be shown here sometime soon.)

Wool Coat Collar Up

I finished a jacket and a coat from the same pattern.  The modifications and fabric choices allowed the basic pattern to be transformed into two completely different garments.  A finished plaid wool coat with a quilted lining was my biggest sewing challenge and accomplishment to date.

What a year!

