All Things Seuss

by lowbeamstudios

ColorBlockTees

Tomorrow we are celebrating all things Dr. Seuss on Theodor Seuss Geisel’s day of birth.  For a bit now I have bounced around the idea of color block t-shirts and realized they would be perfect platforms for a few Seuss illustrations I had been saving.

It all started with a skirt I sewed a few years back:

DSCF0369

We had been on a Dr. Seuss kick when I spotted this fabric at a local quilt shop.  It is a gathered waist skirt with a rainbow assortment of trims sewn on.  I saved the scraps for another day.  This week they came back out and I cut some jersey for new tees.

DSCF0370

the pattern:  Rae’s Flashback Skinny Tee

the fabric:  solids are thrifted tees, the two prints are cut from favorite garments that have been outgrown, the Dr. Seuss fabric is printed by Robert Kaufman and info can be found HERE

the sewing:  To form a color block effect, I found a variety of coordinating colors and combined.  The above tee started with the polka dot print and each color in that pattern was pulled for a section.  The color block effect for the one below is composed of only two prints.  I love the juxtaposition of the stripes on back and solid on front.  Both kids colored their Seuss character scraps with fabric markers and I raw-edge appliquéd* them onto the tees.

DSCF0354

DSCF0347

***I have been practicing with my free motion foot and obviously need more practice.  Please pretend the stitched lines to be child-like scribbles versus the work of a practicing quilter.  Thanks.

