Golden Stripe Tee

by lowbeamstudios

Spring is officially here and I feel an itch for some transitional clothing:  Items warm enough to be paired with a light jacket for the cool mornings and comfortable alone as the temperatures start to climb midday (any day now!  It is Spring after all).  After I sewed the tee below I had just enough width of fabric in the two yard length to make a scarf.  Perfect for early Spring!

DSCF0474

the pattern:  the t-shirt top from Alabama Studio Sewing & Design (modified to delete fluted sleeves)

the fabric:  a lighter medium weight knit from Girl Charlee Fabrics

the sewing:  I am polishing my hand-sewing skills in preparation for a true Alabama Chanin beauty that is in the planning stages.  All the seams were machine stitched to speed the process, but I then felled each with a straight stitch and used a “snail trail” stretch stitch for the neckband binding.

DSCF0484

