Improv Chevron: Quilted Bench Cushion

by lowbeamstudios

DSCF0599

After our move in January, we bought a small table for our eat-in kitchen.  WE commissioned a local artisan/shop owner for a custom made the farm table and bench.  The kids share the bench on one side of the table.  When I remind them to sit on their bottoms at dinner (a nightly request) they were complaining the wood was hard.  I added “bench cushion” to my sewing list.  It took a few weeks for me to get excited about this project, but then I remembered THIS tutorial and realized this was just another opportunity to play with fabric.  My daughter and I dug through scrap bins (hers and mine) to come up with a coordinating pile of fabric.  After the kids were in bed and later the next day, I pieced the cushion top and tightly quilted it with straight lines. A few nights later, after I admired the to taped to my wall, I added piping and the rest of the cushion.  The piping and sides are very randomly assembled from all the remaining pulled scraps that were wide enough.  The bottom is an old tablecloth.  There is a zipper at the back for easy in and out of the polyester cushion for laundering:  They are eating on it after all.  And in case I was hoping for a miracle, both kids are still not sitting still at dinner.

DSCF0579

DSCF0581

