Liberty Portrait {Spring Tops 2013}

by lowbeamstudios

DSCF0655

the pattern:  AMH’s Painted Portrait Blouse and Dress

the fabric:  Liberty of London “stack of books” print (couldn’t find actual  name) with facing and trim in Free Spirit Voile seafoam

the sewing:  I am glad I found my love of hand-sewing about one year ago.  This pattern requires a bit more than most, but it is worth it.  The entire yoke lining is hand stitched.  I  put aside my usual “hurry up and get it done” attitude and took extra time to sew french seams when attaching the side panels to the front and back, in addition to all the handwork.  This means no exposed seams.  The hem is finished with voile bias trim for a hidden bit of color.

I had plans of a flannel dress version that was not made over the winter.  Maybe this fall?  Anyways, I could not wait until then to try this pattern.  And I am happy I didn’t.  There are many great versions of this blouse/dress in the AMH flickr pool;  Like THIS and THIS.

A few details:

DSCF0668

stamped “low beam studios” detail on the yoke lining

DSCF0664

button/upper back detail with pearl cotton loop

DSCF0674

Lining attachment detail (please ignore the little X that I haven’t washed out)

DSCF0675

On the hanger

***

STS-2013-masthead-FINAL

If you are in need of your spring top sewing inspiration, check out Made by Rae and her spring top sewalong flickr pools.  You have until Friday to join in on the fun.

And coming up next week…..Kid’s Clothes Week!  I will have a KCW to-do list with ideas and fabrics here on Monday.

