KCW – Day 4

by lowbeamstudios

I am checking in on my Kid’s Clothes Challenge sewing.  Yesterday (day 3) I finished up both the jumper I previewed in my last post and #7 on the list, a baby dress.

DSCF0875

the pattern:  self-drafted/heavily modified, inspired by a MiniBoden jumper seen HERE

the fabric:  Lisette, an impulse buy at JoAnn’s because it was the perfect pattern for this jumper

the sewing:  I used my basic top and pants pattern as the base for this top.  I then dropped the shoulder and widened the front for gathering.  I also added width to the front to accommodate a button placket.  The shorts have an added cuff and button.  I attached the two pieces with a wide french seam that I felled to make an elastic casing.  I hope I explained that clearly.

the finished garment:  I am so happy with this jumper.  The top is exactly as I had pictured it and I like my finishing better than the Boden version.  The shorts, which my daughter likes to wear longer,  will be fuller in the next version.  I think they would look cute gathered too.  I had so much fun making this garment.  It is the first time I have a desire to design clothing patterns for production.  We’ll see?

DSCF0881

gathered shoulder and placket detail (a.k.a. I am so done with this photo shoot)

DSCF0867

buttons and ribbon waistband

DSCF0883

post-photo shoot play and only detail photo of shorts hem

***

DSCF0856

the pattern:  Rae’s free Baby Geranium

the fabric:  Sarah Jane’s Children At Play and Kona Solid, lined in white

the sewing:  This dress is tiny.  I had one piece of the balloon print that was almost big enough:  the skirt is not quite as full as the pattern calls for.  I love those balloon-clutching bunnies!

***

Today I have been working on a pair of linen dress pants for my three year old.   He is not into fittings and I have bribed him with chocolate.

