KCW Days 5, 6, & 7

by lowbeamstudios

DSCF0907

***

DSCF0939

DSCF0925

the pattern:  self-drafted from a basic pants pattern

the fabric:  linen from http://www.fabric-store.com and stripes from thrifted linen pants

the sewing:  I took my basic pant pattern and added a flat front, slant pockets, and the tuxedo stripe.  I took the extra time sewing these to make french seams; so there are no raw edges.  I also got all finicky with the hem and sewed it with a blind stitch.

the garment:  These were meant to be a simple pair of linen pants in the darker linen.  When I unfolded all my pulled fabric, I realized there was not enough for pants.  I went back to my stash and found this lighter linen.  That is when the tuxedo stripe entered my mind and  I am so very glad it did.  These couldn’t be more perfect.

DSCF0926

flat front view with pockets and belly button

DSCF0943

nearly blind-stitched hem

***

DSCF0897

DSCF0900

the pattern:  modified Flashback Tee with gathered skirt and zipper closure

the fabric:  Mama’s Feedsacks 1930’s Era Designs by Robert Kaufman, piping in Art Gallery’s Indian Summer by Sarah Watson

the sewing:  I was slow to get moving on this dress.  I procrastinated because the piping and zippers both require a bit of finicky sewing.  Once I got started the dress came along quickly.  I sewed the bodice on day 6.  Day 7 I attached the piping and skirt.  Last night I settled in for a movie with my husband and hand finished the bodice lining.  It still needs hemmed, but I couldn’t fit my model in her sleep.  Her favorite part….. it twirls!

DSCF0958

***

KCW made for some very productive sewing, but I will continue with kid’s clothes this week to finish up two more items from my initial list;  a tie and dress shirt to pair with the pants up top.

