Middle of May Check -In

by lowbeamstudios

How did nearly three weeks go between my last two posts?  If the last few weeks are any indication, my presence here this summer will be slim.  Sorry in advance if weeks go by in my absence.  I am sewing.  And I will post projects…  but not with any regularity.

***

On to the fun news and reason for this post:

DSCF1121

This month is the first “season” of Project Sewn.  The ladies that run Project Run and Play for kids fashion design have started a competition for women.  It last four weeks with a different theme each week.  I didn’t participate in the first challenge because I wear very little black, but this week is different.  Week 2 theme:  The Sundress.  After wearing last summers sewn sundress a few times each week I knew I would be adding another easy dress this summer.

the pattern:  Sew Liberated’s Clara Dress

the fabric:  Kaffe Fassett Shot Cotton in Blueberry  The shimmer on this crossweave is awesome.  The raspberry and light blue threads play together to make an iridescent purple with a raspberry or blue glow as the fabric moves.  If you haven’t seen the Kaffe Fassett shot cottons, check them out.

the dress:  I wear simple clothes.  I like elastic waists and flowing skirts.  Both those things make an easy wardrobe when wrangling kids and gardening.  There are times however I want to look more polished and the details in a garment really help to accomplish a put together look.  This dress has a shawl collar and cutout sleeves.  A new mission for myself is to sew more details while maintaining an ease in wear.  This dress is a good step in that direction.  I will probably pair it with a skinny belt and ballet flats and actually do my hair when I wear it to a party this weekend.

DSCF1115

Voting happens all weekend, so head over to Project Sewn and take a look at all the great dresses.

I have ideas rolling around for the next two weeks themes (’80’s and Your Signature Style) and hope to sew them up, in addition to finishing two lingering quilts, playing in the sunshine with my kids, cooking dinner every day, and maybe sleeping a full night here of there.  So we’ll see.

