Alabama Studio Skirt

by lowbeamstudios

DSCF1129

the pattern:  Alabama Studio Sewing and Design’s Mid-Length Skirt

the fabric:  AC’s medium weight jersey in silt and doeskin, with Abbie’s Flowers stenciled

the sewing:  My first finished Alabama Chanin garment that is 100% hand stitched.  I enlarged the floral print much larger than suggested in the book and floundered my way through stenciling with a spray bottle.  The skirt is stitched with Button and Craft thread in Dogwood.  All seams are felled with knots and seam allowances on the interior.  This skirt might be a work in progress:  I am trying to decide if it needs the reverse appliqué I had planned or is just right as is.

up next:  a coordinating top with smaller stencil and beadwork.  It will be just the right project to work on from the picnic blanket while kids play and small enough to take on vacation in the coming weeks.

