Boxy Tee

by lowbeamstudios

DSCF2162

the pattern:  Stylish Dress Book 2 – dress D cropped and sleeveless

the fabric:  a linen tablecloth in my new favorite color, facings for neck and sleeves in voile

I had originally planned to sew the sleeved version, even had them cut and attached, when I realized this super drapey linen and the pattern as sewn were not compatible.  I cut the sleeves off and finished the openings with bias trim.  It was a good solution.  I used the length of a shirt version of the pattern (A) and shortened it another 4 inches (2 cut, 2 folded under for a wide hem) after I had tried it on.  It layers nicely and works just as well alone.

Have you been following along with the Wardrobe Architect series at the Coletterie?  This and the striped top are the first two pieces from my summer capsule wardrobe list.  I have a few skirts to finish next.

